Question about modding stuff

Jacowboy

So I'm a complete mod noob, I've no idea of anything at all, so let's get thar out of the way first.

Here's the thing, I'd like to replace some textures by transparent gifs, to effectively make the visually disappear from the game... BUT I'd also like to be able to either 1) restrict it to certain cells (if possible) or te be able to activate/deactivate it like you would do with a mod...

So, let me give you a concrete example: I want to clean Sanctuary and Red Rocket next to it... but most "scrapping mods" break the original meshes, so they severely slow down the game, from what I understand... but a more simple solution from what I've read would be to basically leave the clutter as is, but replace the textures with transparent ones, so while they're still there, you can't see them AND you don't break any meshes (in fact I've seen a couple of mods that do this, but only for certain items).

So in short, is this something that would be feasible by a complete noob? Or should I just forget about the whole thing? =/

If so, are there any good simple noob-friendly tutorial on how to do so?

Thanks!

As far as I know the game only supports DDS image format. And there are different types of compression.

I don't know how or if it could be done to activate/deactivate. Restricting to certain cells is possible, but I think it's too much work and more complicated. You'll have to edit nif files(they contain meshes), assign new material files with new textures to the nifs, probably remove their collision. On top of that you will have to replace the objects in question with the edited ones and then generate precombined geometry and precombined visibility for the cells.