Guide to non-loadorder related CTD and ILS

darkmadmax

For past 2 months I was spending much of my free time checking out the efforts produced by community since the last time I played skyrim (which was at release and in purely vanilla form), I must say even back then for me personally skyrim in vanilla state was a relatively stable game , though with occasional ctd here and there. Patched to most recent version vanilla was remarkably stable as well (I did not had a single ctd in one one 8+ hours play session)
But as I started playing with a lot of mods (my installed base is around 170 mods) they introduced significant instabilities/slowdowns , I did manage trough organized approach to root and pinpoint major main causes and solutions for most of them, so here Id like to share em and hopefully get some feedback too.
This article is not about the issues of intramod compatibility and load order related CTD here, but I focus on the systeml side involved in using mods and ways to troubleshoot, identify and solve CTD/ILS and performance issues . This is very much similar approach I always used as a system administrator and software developer for general troubleshooting , difference is just the scope of applications/problems.
We need 3 things : tools which allow us to measure performance/CTD affecting parameters, ways to stress test our system with most CTD prone scenarios , and approaches to solve the issues once they are identified.
The first step are means to monitor the game state (as far as it possible):
The tools:
--------
They should allow you to easily see the graph overtime of the several parameters which are good benchmarks for stability/performance:
- VRAM: gpu-z, sysinternals process explorer. Peak vram should be under 100MB from your max VRAM
- RAM: windows task manager/resource monitor, sysinternals process explorer . Peak RAM usage under 3GB (some folks say within 2.8GB)