Farming mod

JulianJP

Hi,

First off, I would like to give Kudo's to all the modders out there, the scope and quality of your work is mind blowing. I'm a software developer, and have dabbled in graphic and 3d design, but I cannot begin to fathom the amount of work and effort that goes into some of these mods, and then to make them available to the public for free after all that effort is beyond me. thanks to you all!

I was thinking about a farming mod for fallout 3. I think that this is a feature that is somewhat missing, as I'm sure that in a post apocalyptic society subsistence farming will be one of the very first industries to pop up in the wasteland.

My idea for a mod would go something like this:

1. a couple of small farms or smallholdings tended by some NPC's OR a farm or smallholding that can act as a player's house.

2. The ability to grow and harvest some crops, and maybe even farming and milking some brahmin cows.

3. the harvested crops can be sold to trader caravans that stop by your farm every few days to "replenish" their trade goods.

4. The ability to put your followers to work in the fields, or to have a follower be a milk maid, lol.

5. Maybe a few mini quests that would allow the player to obtain certain crops/seeds for planting?

This is obvioulsy a lot of work, but could form the basis for a good mod that would allow for many enhancements in the future. A few future ideas I can think of at the moment is adding some NPC's as wasteland wanderers, they could follow similar routes as the trading caravans, and when reaching your farming settlement could pay you for accomodation for the night, kind of like a guest house operation. This could bring an economy aspect to Fallout 3.

Anyway, just an idea, use it, don't use it, personally I think it is a cool idea, cause after blowing sh*t up all day you may want to relax and grow a few crops, lol

Guest deleted934561