New Vault?

ObsidianBlk

I'm very new to the whole Fallout world, so, please forgive me if I missed this somewhere but I had a though (having played through all of Fo3's main game and a couple of the DLCs)...

Obviously Vault Tec is the Microsoft of the Vault building world, but, like with Microsoft, Vault Tec HAD to have some competitors before the fall of the bombs. I give this idea out because I have mediocre talent for 3D modeling and/or texture work.

My idea was, at the least, a retexture of the Vaults to fit with a rival company (If Vault Tec is Microsoft, then this rival company would be Apple). For the ambitious, a complete new vault tileset (I know... probably will never happen). A possible story between the companies could be that while Vault Tec became the leader in mass population Vault technology in America, just prior to the war, this rival, international, company was just starting to make in-roads in the American private sector. Small "Home" vaults and "Company" shelters. Obviously Vault Tec was in this business too (explaining all of the user made vaults), but now a new story could be developed regarding corporate espionage between the two companies.

Depending on the Las Vegas DLC that's coming, perhaps it may turn out that the new vault company has a secret vault that was an experiment of design to rival Vault Tecs mass population vaults.

Anyway... I throw that out there for anyone who may find the idea useful.

:)