How far can I go?

Shane096

Long time reader first time poster and I first want to take my hats off in respect to the advanced people who take the time to help the newer folks out and help us achieve what we are looking for. I am very new to modding and the GECK and I just have some simple.....can I do this type questions. I have always been intrigued on how to mod a game and I have started checking into the processes of it works etc. I have simply fell in love with the Fallout universe and story I have been inspired to finally see what I can do for modding. I aspire to go a long distance with it. I am interested in making my own game essentially. My questions are: Is it possible to modify the Capitol Wasteland map, Aiming to remove DC landmarks and add somethings to the map to make it appear like a new location. The Capitol Wasteland is an excellent model, and I was curious to see if there is somehow I could start off by just removing and adding things to the base map to create my own universe since I am fairly new and am not advanced enough to make one from scratch. Would it be possible to maybe make a pre-war mission at the begining to make a sprint for the vault as the bombs fall.....the idea here is can I make a couple nuclear bombs go off automatically in the distance as you approach the Vault for that apocalyptic feeling and to add more to the atmosphere. Can I carry over to my new map the night and day time effects found in the regular game once you come out of vault? My goal here is to move the Fallout universe to a new location and a new time era after the bombs fell. Just asking these sorts of questions to start off, to see if this project is even possible and even worth pursuing......thank you in advance for any advice or help or answers you can maybe contribute.

Hello!

I am with no means a modder, but intrigued by your question I think I can retort.