bsa unpacking and repacking

dylandingler

My name is Dylan and I'm fairly new to modding. I had this idea that maybe I could unpack my bsa and then copy and replace all of the textures/meshes folders from all of the mods that I have. and then repack the bsa. Is this possible? This would save a bunch of space on my tiny 225gb hd. Thanks for any help.

I wouldn't attempt such a thing without making and keeping a backup of the Fallout - Textures.bsa and Fallout - Meshes.bsa. So that's 1.7Gb of overhead that I wouldn't be willing to delete from the hard drive. So how much space would I really be saving - if any?

Also, if I want to do modding, and want to share these mods with others, I'm not going to alter the original game archives at all - I may create a mod that works perfectly on my own system, but will not function at all on any other system because my archives are full of changes other people made - and the mistakes they made.

It wouldn't work anyway. Mods will only check a BSA that is named for the mod. So if you pack the resources of ModX into the fallout BSAs, they will never be found by ModX. You would have to make a separate BSA for each mod. At least, this is how I understand it.

It's not a good idea to mess with the vanilla BSAs as that is where the game looks to find its vanilla resources. So if you manage to overwrite a vanilla resource while making changes to an unpacked bsa, then repack it, and later remove the mod that references that renamed resource, you will have a crash and no way to fix it short of reinstalling.

So just leave the vanilla BSAs alone and make new ones with your new stuff - if you really want to make them into BSAs.

No reason why that wouldn't work. I use repacked DLC BSA files on my system to store upgraded textures.

If you plan to build and release mods, I agree its a spectacularly bad idea. But for personal use...

Keep in mind a couple of things.