Assistance Requested: Revamped Pod Mechanics (LW Compatible)

raargharg

Would like to revamp pod mechanics (changes outlined below) and could use any advice / input / leads. Any related mods I could look over, relevant tutorials etc. would be much appreciated.

I am completely new to modding this game but have a background in light coding so I'm confident I can get something to work but it's gonna take time and any help / time-savers would be appreciated.

Purpose

To eliminate the fear inherent in uncovering Fog of War.

To encourage map awareness through uncovering Fog of War.

To make aggressive flanking play styles viable, rather than leading to death via pod discovery.

To give initiative to the faction that first sees the other.

Add a sense of urgency to combat - you need to lower their numbers before reinforcements arrive.

Why

I hate pod mechanics. How do the aliens not know I'm killing their dudes like 100ft away? Why am I so scared to uncover Fog of War? I'm sick of running in to flank-kill that last Muton only to uncover a bunch of Mechtoids ready to slaughter.

Changes

1. Pod discovery changed to be probabilistic (dependent on distance) instead of based on LOS only. Sometimes you will see a pod before they can react - encouraging discovering pods before they find you (see below)
  2. All pods slowly approach XCOM as soon as any combat begins, similar to how Outsiders call all pods. This is to put heat on the player so they have to act quickly, and to encourage uncovering Fog of War (if you don't see them first, they'll just find you next turn anyway).
  3. The movement speed of undiscovered pods must be modified to set a good pace for combat
  4. Pod size and strength must be balanced, though being able to shoot at unaware pods may significantly reduce the need for the changes needed to compensate for more aggressive aliens.

Result