Companion Mods to Learn From

xdustsmile

To start, I'm a newb looking to get into modding as a hobby. I'm just now starting to look into the system itself and how things work, looking at all the wikis and all that.

But I've already decided what I want my first mod to be: a companion mod. I like the CM Partner and Companion Share and Recruit mods, the systems are great. But I've always wished for more depth. Most CM partner mods are pretty much a face and a name and thats it.

What I'm looking to do is sort of compile the attributes of other modders' excellent work. I'd like to take an in-depth quest/relationship system, a la SultericDrums' Saerileth/Viconia, except more lore driven. I want them to look as good as some of Radnurag's, Divine Avenger's, 4GVN's, Gonzoguns', Xtudo's and Urrl's work. I want streamlined AI, like Emma's Vilja, except there will be male and female companions and I'm not sure if it will ever be voiced or have the same amount of dialog. Specific combat styles like with Krisis1451's Midas Companions. Then take it all the way adding new areas (thinking of Valenwood/Summerset), a continuing storyline after you've gone thru all the introductory meet-so-and-so quests, and new gear/items/spells. I want to make something for those of us who have modded up a completed game - so it would be something involving the Fourth Era with provinces revolting, increased banditry, political intrigues, and all sorts of things that would happen to a crumbling empire. Maybe even throw my own spin on the sacking of the IC by Titus Mede and/or the Thalmor retaking control of Valenwood/Summerset.