ME>DA>ME2>DA2: Perspectives...

SpellAndShield

I haven't post here in eons for a number of reasons, mostly because I have stopped playing DA (and then being very busy with graduate studies) but I have been having these thoughts for a while so I thought I would write them down regardless if someone actually reads it.

The fact is, I got burnt out on DA. Sure, you can get burnt out on any game but I explored every nook and cranny, got every achievement and played most of the DLC (though I didn't bother with the latest ones). DA is clearly a great game and it always will be but I think I can never truly go back to playing (which is a shame since Dark Times has come out and I voice a major NPC; I am Rana, so if you meet this Rana fellow, let me know how he is... :thumbsup:) and the reason isn't just that I burnt myself out on it. About half a year ago I started playing ME2 and really got into it, played it almost as obsessively as I did DA and it struck me how streamlined the game was (in a good way); the combat is great, the story is exhilarating, the music is compelling and captivating and the concept of the hero (Shepard) is an excellent one. I then tried to play ME and got through it once but have never bothered with it again. I couldn't help but notice the reasons why I couldn't really bother with ME; the sequel was just, overall, a much better game. Sure, some of the RPG stuff might have been better in ME but ME2 overall just is a superior game. You might ask, how this is relevant to DA. Well, it is very, very clear that many of the elements that have been alluded to by the developers of DA2 are successful elements already present in the ME(2) universe, i.e. single protagonist of a male/female variety around whom the game centres. You CANNOT truly claim that in DA the game centres around the Warden. Yes, he/she is pivotal and necessary but there is a lot of other stuff going on or in other words, it is about what the Warden must do, i.e. stop the Blight. This is