geck mod question

alecium96

So I posted this in a diff forum and I'm not sure why it didn't get any views. My question was how do you mod something in one mod and use textures from another? For example. I use minokos beauty pack. I'm trying to mod a character from a diff mod. Specifically change her hair. Prob is I want to use a hair type from the minokos pack. But it doesn't show up in the list obviously. I've tried a lot of different stuff but im just new to geck I guess.

well, what i would do is to re-create the hair in the GECK while loading the other mod that you are using, and make a new esp out of it

this way you will still have the new hair, while not having to use both mods

it is either that, or you will have to load both the mods together (at least, these are the options that i know of)

Well I don't mind using them both. It's more of an issue loading the one that I want to alter in the geck and being able to access the hair from the other mod. I'm trying to put hair from my beauty mod onto the character in a companion mod. Just not able to open the one to alter and see the hair I wanna use.

well, there is a line that you can change in the settings, that allows loading multiple masters in the GECK

this way, you can load both mods in the GECK at the same time, and change the companions' hair

you may also be able to do it on FNVEdit, but i don't know how to do it....

if you need to load multiple masters:

In order to create new .esms, you can use FOMM or FO3Edit to convert an .esp to an .esm. To load multiple .esms in the GECK, you need to change this setting in the GECKCustom.ini file:

bAllowMultipleMasterLoads=1

This file is NOT found in the fallout3 folder in the BethesdaSoftworks folder. It is found in the user folders under

My Documents/My Games/Fallout 3 

it's the same, but in the New Vegas folder

Edited by WastelandAssassin