Nifskope - adding mesh parts

mancika

Hi there! I'm still learning how to tinkle with meshes in nifskope. Just run into a problem.

I took a well working weapon model, added 3 parts to it taken from another well working weapon. Used the Copy Branch command and added the 3 parts on the root node. None are animated parts. The children count seems okay (+3). In game the parts are placed all show up like they should don't move around etc. After I play and quit then try to load the save that has this new weapon on the character the game crashes to desktop.

I tried to rename the parts multiple times to point to other pieces of the orig model but same result. Besides what i said i only moved the parts (and a node) around to be in place and corrected the texture paths to be completely separate from the weapon i took the parts from. (textures also added ofc).

What did i miss? Thx in advance.

Forgot to mention what I added are all showed as nitrishapes and all original mesh parts nitristrips. I don't know the difference or if this is the problem. Used stripify on them. Will test tomorrow since its 3am here. Night:)

Edit: same crash. Double checked GECK stuff, only model can cause the crash.

Edited by mancika

Whenever i pasteing parts onto a nif.

I right click on the bsfadenode or ninode in the target nif where i want to add the blocs on. then go node > attach node nitrishape; right click on the nitrishape node> atach property bsshaderpplightingproperty; node > atach property nimaterialproperty .

then i go copy the data i need from the other nif with copy bloc on the nitrishapedata, paste it into the data ref thingy area in the block details of the nitrishape node i added.

copy the bsshadertextureset into the data ref place on the bsshaderpplightingproperty also.

dono if it has anything at all to do with your issue tho. never had something working and then crashing wheni load the save.