Need Help: Merchants to sell Mod-Items

ggunster

So I am new to modding and CS but I have basic modding skills. I am using the Dwemer Skyship V2 and I added some merchants to the lower decks. The merchant AI is fine and they have merchant containers that contain basic vanilla items. However, I want these merchants to sell Explosives from Phitt's Explosives mod, as well as other mod added items like bathtubs and bedrolls. I open the Explosives.esp and Dwemer Skyship.esp, and set the Dwemer Skyship as the active file. I put the explosives in the merchant containers, but in game they do not show up. I cannot figure this out so any advice is appreciated. My hunch is that it is because I have the Dwemer Skyship.esp set as active file. Please Help!

:wallbash:

You can't combine mods like that. As you see the results are very poor.

The best practice method is to 1) make sure you have saved your plugin with a unique new name like Skyship Merchants or anything unique you want, (not just modify the existing dwemer skyship plugin as you indicated). 2) do not open two plugins at once as you have done above "I open the Explosives.esp and Dwemer Skyship.esp". Instead, after you have saved your new Skyship Merchants* plugin, reopen it and continue your work by 3) adding the assets from any other mods you would like into this mod.

The best practice method of doing this is to create new meshes and texture folders for this new mod you're making, with a folder structure like this:

Meshes\ggunster\dwemer merchants\weapons\ *assets*

Textures\ggunster\dwemer merchants\weapons\ *assets*

If they're selling armor it will look like:

\ggunster\dwemer merchants\armor\ *assets*

the baths will probably be

\ggunster\dwemer merchants\furniture\ *assets*

Using this method will force you to change the texture paths in Nifskope. A shoddy way to muddle through it is to add the assets from the existing mod's folders, but then you will have to redo it if you do decide to release your mod.