Theoretical OBMM Question

Talonvore

Bear with me as i am pretty new to the whole Oblivion modding community and i do try to find answers on my own before i start asking questions. However, I've read the OBMM wiki but it contains mostly info on how to use OBMM and not so much the process of how exactly OBBM does its thing. Object of this post is to discern exactly how OBMM works in relation to altering original game files. I'll explain what i mean. My perceived perception of how modding works is that when install a mod you naturally either add to or overwrite the original data files, thereby altering them. If its a case of jsut adding additional data i guess this is not too bad since during uninstallation OBMM would jsut delete any additional data that was added to the original, but in the case of original data actually being overwritten and altered this could be bad because if you dont like the changes well you could have a very difficult time getting the game back to an out of the box state.

This is where OBMM comes in. When you use OBMM to install mods it does the work for you by installing the data into the correct folders and locations and uninstalling a mod is as simple as deactivating the mod in OBMM's menu. Given of course that you've packaged/prepared the mod correctly for OBMM.

Now this is the point where im interested in exactly how OBBM works. Does OBMM somehow make copies of the unaltered game data prior to mod installation so that when you uninstall said mod , OBMM removes the mod and swaps the original game data back in?? If not then i guess i dont really see how you can get the game back to the unaltered state prior to the isntallation of the mod by uninstalling a mod with OBMM.