Persistant Crash When Looting Armor off Males

originslayer

Greets!

And now, for your enjoyment, the Great Wall of Text! :biggrin:

I've had this problem before, when attempting to remove clothing from any character, dead or alive, would cause CTD. In frustration, I reinstalled and went through the whole plugin ritual again, for the sixth or so time since I started playing Oblivion on the PC. By the way, never heard of Oblivion or even the Elder Scrolls until Xbox Live had it available in Games on Demand. Shocked.jpg

For nearly six weeks all has been fairly well with the latest install. Though in the last week, that same problem has arisen again. Except, for now, the problem is mainly affecting the human type males, both original and those added by mods. The humanoid types will produce a CTD when looting armor in a very random manner. I'd estimate ten percent of the time; this also applies to all female types. My own Breton male character will randomly CTD when trying to change from armor to clothes, or when trying to change a Mage Equipment robe to anything else. Seldom do I loot the general Mage Equipment robes from standard NPCs so I can't say if there is a problem in looting that stuff.

Trying to avoid another complete install, I've reinstalled the compatibility skeleton, all body meshes and textures, along with the few mods that I have so far suspected as having corrupt files. For good measure, I re-installed the plugin files to those mods as well. Also, during the last install, I made a backup of the data folder before the first mod was installed. In desperation, I've overwritten all the original/dlc bsa files, for fear they've become corrupt.

Here is the layout, according to load order:

HGEC OMOD

Mage Equipment 2 (calls for Robert's Female, but there is no exposed skin anyway, also female robes are overridden below)

Robert's Male Body override

Colourwheel's Stock Female Armor/Clothing override