Getting started as a modder, looking for advice and directions

WarTherapy

So.

Before you stands a person - Me! - eager to finaly stop being a darn thankless consumer of mods and use his skills to make them.

I am a multimedia student, well into my second year in university, and i am literaly installing 3DS max as i type this, since i will have 3D modelling this semester.

I was planning to start doing my own items at some point, but i think i might need to ask for directions first, so i came here.

some things i would really like clarified:

1 - so how does one get started in making mods? should i basicaly start on my own, hone my skills and eventualy group up if i want to do something more ambitious? or should i team up ASAP and learn on the fly?

2 - do you recomend any sort of plugins for modding, or is vanilla 3DS max enough?

3 - i plan to do swords, armors, and accessories. is this a good idea, or should i start somewhere else, given that i am interested in making mods based on 3D models?

4 - exactly how hard is it to make my own textures? i have photoshop, i can use it, and i even have a shitton of brush kits.

Well , for 3d max or blender you will need Nif tools , and a few more texture plugins , only for max I belive , textures one

For Scripting well , if you aint a dumbass such as me , It wont be too difficult itself the GECK .....man that GECK well just take it with a gran of salt not plesant but its like dark souls the masohistic one you will see people crying due to that

Imagine the GECK is as difficult as Dark souls but in the end you will be felling like a damn king plus its not too bad once you get around it

For Swords , you picked the wrong game if you ask me , but if thats your poison its beyond me

The Difficulty Kinda Depends on you , will you push foward

Its Like Dark Souls...well maybe turned up to 11 in a text format and crashes as much as Fallout 3 on Windows 7