Idea: portable portals

iceroyale

(Don't shoot me if it's been done before)

I had an idea recently: why not create a set of portals that you can drop on the floor? This would allow you to set up a portal to anywhere you wish. Teleport location would simply be added to the B portal when you drop the A portal and vice versa. You could also include a dialog allowing you to name the portal. Ofcourse this wouls require several unique sets of portals since they'd probably get messed up otherwise.

Now before you say 'do it yourself', I must admit I have no experience in scripting whatsoever.

That would mean you'd drop a door...

Not really... You could just create a "clutter" object that uses the portal mesh. So when you drop it, you have something that looks like a portal. The object would have an "OnActivate" block with a MoveTo function.

Yeah, but all the existing mods seem to use spells, while I think it would be more logical to actually have a portal 'item' that you can drop

Just curious how, in a world steeped in magic, would an item be more logical than a spell? I would imagine they would be equally

plausible in the Oblivion world. When things are equally plausible, modders tend to look at convenience next. In this case, spells will

win over an item.

With an item you would need to open your inventory and then drop the item on the ground and then z-grab it and move it into position.

With a spell you could hotkey it and aim at the intended location and press your cast key.

I think that's why most modders have chosen the spell approach.

Edit to include link to an example mod using the summonable portal approach: Septim Mansion

Edited by Astymma

I have seen the castable portal used in several mods. Usually as a door into a private universe or separate worldspace.