Don't laugh at my newbie question!

rakesh73

Ok well I'm not a newbie but I'm technically far inferior to most of you guys. I love all the elder scrolls and fallout games. I had a lot of fun modding skyrim through steam as it was so easy to do. I modded fallout 3 and nv via the nexus which was also straightforward using NMM.

I assumed that I would mod fallout 4 (still playing vanilla currently) via the nexus but this whole recent thing about the release of the creation kit and mods available on Bethesda.net has confused me somewhat. Does this work with the nexus? Does it make modding using nexus more complex? Or does it make things better? I don't really get what a creation kit is.

Basically I want lots of mods to try and for it to be easy to do!

Any thoughts welcome, cheers.

The Creation Kit(s), the G.E.C.K., and the Construction Set are the modding tools released by Belthesda to allow for the modding of the game they are released for. They are almost the same main tool used by the developers to make the game. You only need it if you are planning on creating mods yourself. Otherwise, visit the various sites that legally host content for your game, and make your choices from among what they have to offer.

Ok well I'm not a newbie but I'm technically far inferior to most of you guys. I love all the elder scrolls and fallout games. I had a lot of fun modding skyrim through steam as it was so easy to do. I modded fallout 3 and nv via the nexus which was also straightforward using NMM.

I assumed that I would mod fallout 4 (still playing vanilla currently) via the nexus but this whole recent thing about the release of the creation kit and mods available on Bethesda.net has confused me somewhat. Does this work with the nexus? Does it make modding using nexus more complex? Or does it make things better? I don't really get what a creation kit is.

Nexus is a community for modders, with developers and modders making tools to create and modify mods.