Padlocks for Containers - Keep your loot safe(r) in the wastes!

Nintynuts

I'm fairly new to Fallout 3, but one of the first things I noticed was how my loot disappeared for no reason (undoubtedly some random chance thing for when it's out of range).

Anyway, it's an area that seemed like it could be improved, so here's my plan:

- when you successfully pick a lock on a container, you get a padlock in your inventory,

- condition determines how hard the lock is to pick

- if you break a lock, it's unusable, but can be used for repairing other locks.

- combining locks (repairing) increases their condition and difficulty

- go to a workbench and you can make a keys for new-found locks from scrap-metal,

- re-use it to keep loot safe in the wastes.

- The higher the difficulty of the lock, the longer it lasts before your stuff is stolen.

- The higher your lockpick stat when you repair a lock, the better the increase of difficulty.

I have a feeling there's a key system already in the game (keyring in inventory), so this could expand on that.

I don't know if the engine tracks NPCs out of range, but if it does, that should be used to determine if your stuff gets stolen (the NPCs lock picking stat if possible, or if they have bobby pins or can break the lock).

Difficulty levels by CND:

1-10% - Very Easy

11-35% - Easy

36-65% - Normal

66-90% - Hard

91-100% - Very Hard

Also, I realize generally that only weapons and apparel have CND values, and if that's a problem, we'll just stick to different difficulty locks as separate items. Broken = Scrap (for keys etc).

Some more ideas for when significant headway has been made:

- Container weight limits - I suspect this might already be the case, but different size containers should have limits to the weight they can hold, just to balance out the usage (no tardis containers)

- Booby Traps - use a grenade/mine and wonderglue, if they open it, boom (more loot for when you return!).