MSG - Minimum Standard for Games

pzaw

hi,

Your comments and discussion appreciated.

I don't know but I consider myself a gamer since I am crazy about RPG games but I do not preorder games anymore and I am more careful about running out and buying a newly released game.

I have been using mods for a couple of years now. I see that some are easy (by user standards) only due to the hard work that modders on this site and others like LoversLab. It adds hours of game play and learning as well about the game. Kudos to all the modders.

I take a lot of trouble in buying the game that is, let’s face it, not that cheap for a lot of us including me. We put up with crashes and quest that never work properly or the graphics that is 2nd rate etc. We wait for patches like good little puppies waiting for their big name companies to make patches so that we can have a decent play through of the game.

I for one am trying to play Andromeda currently. I bought Andromeda on the day that it was released but I found it was very buggy. Some of the quests would break - eg. I like to explore and must have done the monument quest in the wrong way or something but when I got to the last monument it would not work. I had to restart the game. This is without any mods as the game just came out.

I complained to the company but I went to the Forums to get some solution to my problems.

I solute those that mod these games. The big companies think to use us as Gamma testers because they could not be bothered to Bata test or perhaps listen to the comments of Bata testers to fix problems.

Anyway, I am finding it harder and harder to keep my mods for different games neat and tidy. This is because different games have to be modded using what I guess to be different techniques.

I cannot start to imagine how frustrating it must be for the Mod Authors and those that make these brilliant mod managers and tools to make it all work.