Animation Doubt

RichardUther

I was doing some new placeables, but I couldn't keep my mind from thinking about a certain creature. So I started modeling it. I've done animations before, but not for NWN2, so I've read everything there is to read about the subject, and I think I got the basics, but I still have a doubt:

I can't access the RWS forums because of an issue with my isp, so I can't go and re-read their tutorial about importing NWN1 models, so hopefully someone around here will be able to help me out. I do remember that it's mentioned that you can't use the animations, and that's where my memory gets fuzzy: Is it just a matter of exporting the model, then tweak skeletons and what not in order to work? Or are they really unusable in NWN2?

In which case I'm wondering: Why? is it Granny related, in the sense that they would look funky when imported into the game? Or something I can't figure out because I'm new to the system? I have some more questions, but no point in making them if the answer is: You can't use them at all.

Thanks in advance for any replies, guys

I'm looking at the NWN1 to NWN2 export tutorial now (which is here, for others interested), and although I don't have the necessary background to understand it, I can relate what it says about importing the animation.

For this tutorial you will need:

NWN1

NWN2

3D Studio Max version 7 or 8

Nwmax (to import NWN1 creatures into Max / Gmax)

http://nwmax.dladventures.com/

NWN compDcomp (for converting MDL files to ASCII for import)

http://nwvault.ign.c....Detail&id=1312

NWN explorer (for exporting creatures from nwn1)

http://nwvault.ign.c...r.Detail&id=248

Exportron (for exporting creature to NWN2)

http://nwvault.ign.c...ns.Detail&id=68

Animations

8. with the skin still hidden. Select c_cube_skel. go to the modifier tab and select the NWN1 animation that is closest to the NWN2 animation you need. in this tutorial we are only exporting Idle so select cpause1 and click zoom