Vault 106 Scariness Mod...

Deleted922044User

Note, if you haven't finished Vault 106, yet, there's spoilers in this topic.

So, maybe I've been playing too many horror games... But I thought Vault 106 was a huge waste of potential, and was really disappointed after reading countless topics about people asking what was in there and if it was any good because they couldn't possibly play any further, etc. So, I propose a mod to overhaul this section and make it into the awesomeness that it could be! Only problem is... I've never modded ANYTHING before, I have only a very, very basic knowledge of Python and Java, and not much else... But I'm willing to learn and try!

Here's the major points and what I think should be done...

Insane Survivors

Rubbish. They destroy the entire atmosphere. I think they should be there, but they need MAJOR changes.

- Most importantly, they need new voiceovers (which, actually, I could do. I've been acting for about 10 years now and I've got a mic). The canned voices say things that sound way too normal, the voices are too normal sounding, and the fact that they're the same canned dialogues that you hear from NPCs over and over again really takes you out of the moment and reminds you that it's a game. I don't think they should be like feral ghouls or complete blathering idiots, but they should definitely sound like people who have been exposed to mind-altering drugs for an extended period of time and driven insane by it, dammit!

- The Vault 106 Jumpsuit needs... Something. It should be bloody, dirty, and torn in places. It's ridiculous to think that these people who will shank you on sight, living in a rust-covered underground facility would find the time to maintain and launder their clothes perfectly. (See: reminds you it's a game)

- I don't think I encountered any female survivors... Maybe it was pure coincidence, but if the game is set up to not generate any female survivors, that should be fixed for realism and variety.