Stumped by Questbuilding.

QaxeIsKaze

I'm new to modding. Mine involve locations: battles, dungeons, etc. I've made the very basic level of quests, once that send the player to "go kill so-in-so". I have a bit of learner's block when it comes to text and numbers, but I truly want to learn, understand and do more. While I have a basic grasp of Aliases, stages, etc. I know next to nothing about scripting. I'm seeking the help of more experienced modders who don't mind me asking questions when I don't "get it" right away.

I have a seemingly simple quest I'd like to create. It involves a get-in-faction event and something of a large group gathering. I have a mod called "Icicle Valley". It's a town mod that has a castle, and while it may be cliche', the goal is to let the player have the castle when the enemy boss inside is dead. More than this, I want to give the player a bit of fanfare at the end.

I have gotten as far as this: player speaks to an npc, gets the quest to kill badguy, kills the badguy, loots the badguy and retrieves some item, comes back and the item he/she was sent to retrieve is removed from inventory. This is where I am stuck. Where I'd like to go from here is seen in something like the Bard's College main quest where a group gathers, the player puts something in the fire, and gets in the faction.

I grasp the concept but I don't understand what is happening on the script end. Could someone enlighten me here?

My rough plan is something like,

10 talk to contact-npc,

20 kill the Jarl,

30 take evidence that he's dead (a heart would do)

40 talk to contact-npc

(I did this much)

50 told to attend ceremony

60 attend ceremony where towns people all attend

70 put the evil Jarl's heart into a fire, etc.

80 you're pronounced Jarl of Icicle Valley, get-in-faction, etc.

Even if you don't want to spell it out for me, could someone at least point me in the right direction? Just looking at other quests isn't clarifying anything for me.

Thanks