Walk/Run Animation Blending - The weirdest Skyrim behavior that no one ever noticed

JamesHalliday

I'm a Skyrim mod author, primarily an animator. Yesterday, I stumbled upon the strangest thing that I've ever seen in this game.

I'm made some walk/run/sprint animation replacers for a new mod I'm working on. I'm implementing them with DAR keywords. While testing them, I noticed that the arm position during the walk was off as compared to how it looks in Blender. My first inclination was to go back to Blender, check and recheck my keyframes, rebake my animation, re-export it, re-convert it, and try the new one. Same problem. I know for 100% that there's nothing wrong with my animations. The game simply not putting the arms where I told it to.

I began conducting tests to systematically eliminate variables. I tried different combinations of walk and run animations (some made by me, some by others) in DAR custom condition folders, the DAR player character specific folder, and the straight up vanilla animation folder. After some time and much hair being torn out, I discovered something truly bizarre that defies all explanation. Skyrim appears to blend the running animation into the walk somehow. What does that even mean? Well, what I mean is that Skyrim will take whatever running animation it is currently using, and blend that into your current walking animation by about 5% or so, and the resulting mix is the walking animation that will be played. For those who know Blender, it looks as if you took the walk and run animations, dropped both into the NLA as action strips, overlapped them, then put the cursor to where you're seeing a blend of about 95% walk and 5% run. That's what Skyrim plays.