Noob questions about GECK Biped Objects

Neilfry

I'm new to modding and have a few questions about the geck. More specifically the Biped Objects when editing armors.

So I am trying to add an armor piece that uses a gun mesh but is a purely cosmetic item. Putting a pistol on a hip for example, that can be equipped and unequipped but doesn't actually do anything.

My first question is how can I move the meshes so that the clothing item appears in a different spot relative to the player. Currently I have my item under the "Backpack" biped object slot and the pistol mesh shows sticking out of the neck. I wanna know how to move it so it can be in different positions. I have tried editing the mesh in NifSkope but It doesn't seem to change the position. I hope that makes sense.

Second, am I able to create custom Biped Object slots so that multiple items can be equipped at once? Currently two items in the backpack slot replace each other when they are equipped. I either need to create new slots or allow multiple armors to be equipped in the same slot.

I hope I was clear in what im trying to do, and I appreciate any help :)

Thanks

There's two things going on here.

First you've got the Biped Object slots in the GECK. The UpperBody slot is generally the entire body mesh, which will be the armor plus all of the human body parts that will be visible. Accessories use other slots, like the backpack slot for backpacks. The idea here is that if something is in that slot, you can't wear something else in the same slot. If you are wearing reading glasses, for example, you can't also wear sunglasses at the same time. So if you equip the sunglasses, the reading glasses get unequipped. If you wear something like a radiation suit, that takes up a bunch of slots, since you can't wear sunglasses over your rad suit helmet, for example.