Body Modification and seeming limits

cevune

I've always quite like the glamour portraits people have done in Skyrim, but any time before that I tried to get into body modding, the process was so complex and interwoven that I just gave up and ran around as a default preset with Skyhair or something along those lines. I recently started playing Skyrim again and took a stab at body modification. And while it's generally going better than before, I'm running into a few issues and want to check my understanding as well explore some concepts (assuming my understanding is correct)

Acronyms!

CBBE, 3BBB, UUNP, oh my!. This is possibly my first misconception, but I notice a large amount of body presets which require some network of dependencies between multiple acronym mods. Personally I went with CBBE because it's what I saw the most, but much like ECE and RaceMenu, is it safe to say these are separation attempts to create similar functionality between "competitor" mods for lack of a better term?

Skins!

Another thing I've noticed is that most skin mods seems to overwrite the base skin file. Meaning you have to select whether you want an ultra-ripped barbarian skin, or a dainty noble-lady's skin, and anywhere in between, but whatever you choose, you're stuck with that skin for every character. Since they seem to overwrite the same core file and not expand an importable list (the way hair styles and even Racemenu presets seem to), you're essentially stuck with one skin rather than an array of high detailed Skin options for various types of characters. Is that correct?