Insane amounts of enchanting xp :(

TwistedDepressions

Hi all, new modder in need of an assist.

Context:
I have so far made a mod which for the most part works just fine, it basically adds a bunch of wand with effects similar to those found on staffs.
The various Wand 'blanks' can be crafted at a smithing forge with the right 'ingredients' and then upgraded on a staff enchanter to have varying effects such as flames and whatnot, again if the player has the right 'ingredients'.

My Issue:
When I craft my blanks I get the expected (small) amount of smithing xp but as soon as I try to upgrade it on the staff enchanter it takes my enchanting from 19 to 76.
If I upgrade another it jumps my Enchanting to 96 and one more maxes me.

My Question(s):
Why is it that I'm getting a metric buttload of enchanting xp on upgrading?

As I said I'm new to modding Skyrim, though I have dabbled with the G.E.C.K for New Vegas a couple times and the Creation Kit seems the same to use.
I just don't understand exactly how magnitude and whatnot effects xp given on crafting/enchanting.
The wands aren't OP and only do damage relational to the spells they match i.e flames has 8 magnitude, my Wands of flame have fire spells that range between 8 and 32 magnitude.

Sorry if there isn't enough info but I have no idea what to share/include/upload to help you to help me, so please let me know if more info is needed to help :smile:

Thanks in advance.
Twist

Vanilla staff enchanting has a rather high xp yield in general. Balanced by the fact that in regular game, you only get your hands on maybe one or two unenchanted staves.

Now, if you look in CK, all destruction staves have a base value of 5. And enchanting one from unenchanted template is enough xp to go from 77 to 83.

If you increase the value, xp goes up significantly. At value 20, it goes 77 - 85. At 200, it is 77-95. And if reduced to 1, still takes one from 77 to 82.