Exporting DDS files for Fallout 4

Guest deleted65729341

A bit of a strange question. The format depends on the map. And also a lot depends on the specific application of the texture... if we are talking about better results when using these textures. There is also a format that is somewhere between quality and performance, but I don’t know if this can be called the best result.

Please don't be offended, but this is really not such a simple question that can be answered with one value. For example, I will tell you the generally accepted BC7 format and deceive you, because it will not be the best choice.

p.s. and more poetically - ashes and coffee. 😃

Edited by SweetKate

Thanks for responding, I am brand new to this whole modding scene and I'm still familiarizing myself with all the terminology. I did some more digging and found out the following in case anyone else is curious:

BC1 Compression:

1. Color Compression: BC1 is suitable for compressing color textures, such as diffuse maps or color maps.
  2. Alpha Channel: BC1 supports 1-bit alpha, meaning it's suitable for textures that have either fully opaque or fully transparent pixels. It is not ideal for semi-transparent or smooth gradient alpha textures.
  3. File Size: BC1 generally produces smaller file sizes compared to BC3, making it more efficient for storage and loading times.
  4. Performance: BC1 is often faster to decompress, which can be beneficial for real-time applications.

BC3 Compression:

1. Color Compression: BC3 is designed for compressing color textures and supports higher precision than BC1. It is suitable for textures with complex color information, such as diffuse maps with detailed color variations.
  2. Alpha Channel: BC3 supports 8-bit alpha, allowing for semi-transparent and smooth gradient alpha textures. This makes it suitable for textures with varying levels of transparency.