Delusions of Grandeur

Relativelybest

I really like the idea of mods, and I would love to make my own. This is probably because it's the closest thing I've yet come to making my own games. But therein lies a certain problem that I keep running into when I start thinking about making one: my ideas always get entirely out of hand. They grow and evolve and expand until they are finally so large that what I'm considering more resembles an entirely new game or major expansion then a mod.

This wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing if I was a really skilled modder. However, I am not. Quite the contrary, I'm a rank amateur with only the bare basic knowledge of how the construction set even works, and no inherent talent to speak of. I should be focusing on something relatively easy, like making a treasure chest with actual items inside or something.

It started back when I was playing Fallout 3, and got this idea that involved improving the Talon company to make them more menacing. From that came an idea for a series of quests that would involve a lot of encounters with the new and improved Talons. And then that led to a quest about finding these secret pre-war AI computers. And then that led to a giant mess of conspiracy theories, alien invaders and dark secrets. And all of this would culminate in this huge battle in the vast underground tunnel-compex I was going to put underneath Washington DC.

It was a great story. Unfortunately, I never even got as far as step one. Oh, I tried, but while I'm good at thinking of ideas for mods, I really don't have the talent for realizing them.