Hello.

BarrowWight

Bit of a generic thread title, innit? Yeah, no one ever accused me of being the most creative individual when it comes to naming things, though at times, I admit to coming up with some pretty good titles. Anywhom, I'm new to modding. Really new. Haven't even started to, so any questions I may have, and I do have some, will probably come across as stupid to more experienced modders. And so far, I have really only two questions. First, are there any real limitations to the amount of mods a person can apply to a game? I mean, I know the specs of the computer itself bear heavily on how well the mods actually run, but is it possible to have so much modding that the game just plain doesn't play? And second, do modders on this site require compensation for their work?

For anybody who may want to know, I am in fact a lifelong gamer, having started with Super Mario Bros. at the age of 3 back in 1989. Since then, I've gone on to play many games, including The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and Dragon Age: Origins. It should be noted that I am actually somewhat computer gaming-phobic when it comes to games that weren't designed specifically to be played on a computer over the internet (read browser-based games like Mafia Wars or Adventure Quest or Dark Throne) having grown up with consoles like the afore-aluded NES and the current-gen PS3 and most systems in between. However, with Star Wars: The Old Republic looming and all the cool user-generated content I've seen for the aforementioned Oblivion and Dragon Age: Origins, but mostly for the gross unreliability of two-thirds of the current-gen home consoles, I figure now's as good a time as any to come out of my shell, so to speak. I think it should also be noted that my area of specialization lies in cheating in video games, not modding or hacking. Big difference.

OK: firstly, welcome to the nexus. Im Vindekarr, tyro modder and grump in residence.