good PC standalone war games

pawzseven

Hello Folks, I am fairly new to shootin and lootin - Oblivion and Fallout3 my only games in that genre so far. I still play them, but would like to expand my collection.

Can anyone recommend a decent standalone war game for PC please?

I am looking for something that will give me the freedom of Fallout3 and preferably modern rather than to do with witches and warlocks. Perhaps such a game does not exist, but I thought you would most likely know. Ta :)

ps I have quite good specs on the computer.

I'd suggest you check out the S.T.A.L.K.E.R.-series. It's a series of first person shooters (from an Ukranian developer, actually) which takes place in the abandoned areas around Chernobyl NPP. In short, they're post-apocalypic shooting & looting-games. However, they're alot more unforgiving than Oblivion and Fallout, until you get used to it, you'll die quite alot. However, it's so much worth it once you've got the hang of it. The atmosphere is just great and the lighting-engine is good enough to make these games worth a look just for that. And it's all strung together by a surprisingly clever story.

I'd suggest you check out the S.T.A.L.K.E.R.-series. It's a series of first person shooters (from an Ukranian developer, actually) which takes place in the abandoned areas around Chernobyl NPP. In short, they're post-apocalypic shooting & looting-games. However, they're alot more unforgiving than Oblivion and Fallout, until you get used to it, you'll die quite alot. However, it's so much worth it once you've got the hang of it. The atmosphere is just great and the lighting-engine is good enough to make these games worth a look just for that. And it's all strung together by a surprisingly clever story.

thank you, I will give one of them a try - appreciated.