Problems adding meshes to hairstyle in Nifskope

ToxicCosmos

So I'm currently trying to create a new "hairstyle" for Oblivion. It's basically a modification of a bald hairstyle, except that I've added earrings where the ears would be. The problem is they're not showing up in the CS or in Game.

I'm still pretty new to this sort of thing and have pieced together some info from around the net to get this far, so I'll lay out the steps I've taken lest the errors can be seen.

• In Nifscope I started by taking a head mesh (1) and the ear mesh (2)
  • I copied the NiTriStrips block from 2 onto the NiNode of 1
  • I aligned 2 to 1
  • I then took a modder's resource simple ring that I found, opened up its mesh (3)
  • Coppied 3's NiTriStrips block to the NiNode of 1
  • Repositioned it to fit the ears
  • copied and pasted that block again a few times as I had before
  • Repositioned them how I wanted
  • (I did remember to apply the Transformations)
  • Then changed the file paths of the ear/rings
  • I then opened up an existing hairstyle (4), copied each NiTriStrip block of the earrings I had positioned in 1 and pasted them onto the NiNode of 4, one by one
  • They showed up in the correct positon

Now, I think I did more than I needed to, but it didn't quite occur to me that there might be a simpler way about it until I was just about done.

I saved that as a new nif (their textures were the correct filepath and showed up fine) I then opened up the CS and added the new hair with the new nif... though I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do about the texture so I copied what was being used for the bald.nif and just renamed that. It's my understanding that the earrings would use whichever dds I pointed them to, right?