Tutorial: Adding Your Custom Weapon To The Workbench

strungout

EDIT: (October 15, 2015) I wrote this 4 years ago and I recently started playing FO3 and modding (I play modding) to occupy myself while waiting for FO4 and I used this tutorial to put back my weapon into the game, so I thought I'd revisit this tutorial and edit it for consistency. I hope I helped more people, even if they haven't left a message in this thread. Thanks to NukaCooler's remark, I will add the part about the schematic button at the end (figured it out for myself just yesterday).

NOTE: Decide ahead of time what name you're gonna give to your weapon and stick to it. It'll make things a lot easier if you have to troubleshoot your work. Mine was ADPBaxter, ADP being an unfinished mod I was working on and Baxter, the name of my weapon (baseball bat + lawnmower blade!).

Oi all.

I searched for a tutorial on this subject, but the only one I read about that existed was deleted. So, here's what I did. Any comments, suggestions, error catching appreciated.

Quick and Dirty Workbench Schematic Tutorial
by strungout

You have your weapon ready and you want to make it available at the Workbench. I couldn't find much info on doing this, so, I'll show you the way I modified my way through it, without much scripting knowledge, just copying what I saw was done with other workbench created weapons like the Dart Gun.

- 1 - Schematic Item

First, adding the Blueprint Schematic Item. Fire up your G.E.C.K. editor. In the Object Window, go to Items > Misc Item > Clutter > Junk and find "SchematicsDartGunItem". We'll edit one that already exists because it already has the "Inventory image" and blueprint "Model" attached to it, so we don't have to add them ourselves.

Right-Click > edit "SchematicsDartGunItem". In the window that pops up, notice the consistency of the naming, again, that makes things a lot simpler to understand, remember and troubleshoot.