Construction Set Saving Difficulties

Kvatch132

I'm new to modding so please if I write stupid stuff, you know why.

Okay, the problem I'm having is with saving in the CS. When ever I save a project, it actually saves - nothing wrong there. BUT if the CS crashes, (as it usually does) or I have to turn off the computer, after I turn it back on again, I go to load the file. When I load the file again, I do all I want to it and finish the mod off but when you save again, then activate the newly saved Esp in the Data Files and go to where i've made the mod in Oblivion, nothing is there. So then all I'm left with is a half finished mod that I can't do anything more to.

Help? Thanks, Kvatch132

What OS are you running on, cause I've had problems like this in the past on Vista and 7.

My problem was that I saved the mod, and everything was fine. But, if i went into my Oblivion folder and looked for it, it wouldn't be there. It was only accessible via the CS.

Fixing this, meant that I'd have to loose all of the mods that I'd made myself.

Please note: The may be a waste of time for you cause you've got a different problem;.

Simply re-install Oblivion into a different installation directory. Try installing into your Documents Folder.

Oblivion should be installed outside C:\Program Files\... or C:\Program Files (x86)\... or you will have problems with the Microsoft security feature UAC 'ghosting' things into a hidden folder. The Documents or My Documents folder is not recommended. C:\Games\Oblivion is the preferred choice. One of the moderators here bben46 has post this uninstall/re-install guide to help get the job of moving your Oblivion install done correctly and completely.