New to modding and have a couple of questions

barinelg

Hello all!

I'm a programmer by trade and wanted to take a crack at modding. I have some ideas, but coming across 2 snags that I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

1. If I want a script to always be running, how would I add this script to the player (or the game in general) so that it always run?
  2. What are some good resources on how to make a custom UI based on existing UI assets? Should I grab a UI mod and dig into their source, or are there good tutorials to start from?

Sorry if these have been answered elsewhere. I've done a lot of digging and can't seem to find anything.

Thanks in advance!

1. Create a quest, attach your script as the quest script and mark the quest Active at Game Start (I think that's the wording). You can put your "begin gamemode" block or other block in that script. You don't have to make the quest do anything but other scripts in the same mod can access its variables with questName.varName.

2. UI mod is mainly about editing XML files. I did a very small mod for someone a while back to hide the rad meter on the pip boy display and it took me a while to wrap my head around the meta-language used but it does start to make sense after a while. I don't know of any documentation or other resources. I just studied the menu files extracted from Fallout - Misc.bsa. There's a tool for working with bsa files here.

Hmm. So having a few other issues. I have made a mod and am trying to test it, but it seems like it's not being loaded. Here are the details:

• I made an .esp file
  • I have the .esp checked in my launcher
  • I am using FOSE, and am launching the game with fose_launcher.exe (GetFOSEVersion returns a value)
  • In an attempt to force it, I added custom.ini and added STestFile2 with my file

I don't think it's loading for a few reasons:

• Nothing from my mod is appearing
  • GetNumLoadedMods returns nothing
  • IsModLoaded says "Mod not loaded"