How much is too much when it comes to graphic cards?

jakeharris74

So Im not a big gamer but I always play every Elder Scrolls and GTA that comes out so its time to update, Im a total novice at gaming specs so any advice is appreciated. I bought this custom computer and added a GTX 580 (way more expensive than the last card I bought which was a Geforce 7800 GS years ago). This computer is mainly for running about 12-15 Virtual machines with VMware which is why I have so much memory. But anyways, my question is how much graphics card is too much? Given this computer.. what games couldnt I run on the most demanding settings and could my solo GTX 580 handle anything Skyrim will throw at me?

Main reason I ask is I see all these posters on other forums talking about needing dual 580s or 590s and complaining about FPS in certain games... are their views warranted or are these types like anorexic women that are never satisfied even though everyone around them thinks they are crazy?

I was satisfied with my computer but after going to OC forums and the like I'm wondering if I would notice much of a difference in Skyrim or GTA 5 if I updated my graphics card further. Help a newbie gamer please!

=================================================================

Intel i7 CPU : Intel Core i7 Extreme 990x, 3.46GHz (Six Core) 12000K

Intel i7 CPU Fans : Antec KUHLER H2O 620 extra quiet Liquid Cooling System

Intel i7 Motherboards : ASUS Rampage III GENE X58, DDR3, SLI & Cross Fire,SATA3, GB LAN, USB 3.0,iEEE

DDR3 Triple Channel memory : 24GB (6x4GB) PC3 12800 DDR3 1600 Triple Channel

PCI-Express Video cards : GeForce GTX 580 1536MB PCI EXpress 16X dual head, HDMI

Hard Drives : 1000.0GB Hitachi 7200RPM SATA2, UDMA 300 32m cache

Media Card Readers : All-in-One Memory Card Reader Internal Black

DVD Recorders : LG Blu-ray 10X Recorder,16x LightScribe DVD Recorder SATA combo drive

Sound Cards : Onboard

Network Cards : Onboard