Strange Crash on Save GAme load

BillHoff

I'm relatively new to Oblivion and have come across a very strange error. Following the main quest, I'm at the point where I have to take Martin to Cloud Ruler Temple. Every time I try to load save game after going there I get a crash about a third of the way through the load bar. Sometimes I can't see the Windows error window & sometimes I can. When I can it says something about Microsoft C++ runtime being shut down in an unnatural way, or something like that. I didn't know anything related to Oblivion even used C++. It seems to have something to do with my location in the game. I can load earlier saves and have. I've gone to the city near the Temple, even bought a house there, no problem. But going to the temple screws the re-load process. This will make it very difficult to pursue the main quest, since it seems I have to go there. Does anybody have any ideas? Like, for instance, what part of Oblivion uses C++ might be a start. OBMM, maybe? But then wouldn't it error all the time? Any suggestions appreciated.

• 3 weeks later...

I must be even more unique than I thought (just like everybody else), given the underwhelming number of replies to my first post. Still, on the off chance that what little I've learned over the last couple of weeks might help somebody else at some point, I'll post it.

It seems that the only thing related to Oblivion that uses C++ is OBSE. Therefore, if I am experiencing a C++ crash, it must somehow be OBSE related. Given that most of the mods I'm using require OBSE, playing without it isn't really an option. Almost all of them came off of the top 100 list here, however, so it's very odd that I seem to be the only one with this problem.