Civil War Overhaul: Death to Spies! (Spy Removal)

xLoneWolf94x

Hello, everyone! Recently (a few weeks ago now, I'm really slow) I decided to take things into my hands and remove the only part of Civil War Overhaul that drove me mad, the bloody f**king spies! They plagued my last game, infecting almost the entirety of town guards. Being a big roleplayer and needing all muh immersion this really bugged me. Towns were basically 24/7 warzones, couldn't relax in them, nothing. Since I am still rather new to modding, I was unable to fix them, but I did remove them! Permanently!

Well, why remove them?

Simply put, they don't work right. CWO is an amazing mod that fleshes out the civil war and makes it what it should've been at launch. There's a few cosmetic bugs here and there, but nothing too bad... except for the spies. There's been a bit of talk about them for a while, with a few agreeing they're either annoying or unbearable. Basically the issue is (This comes from an old reddit post in which the user inmundano listed bugs they found and apparently fixed) ""Benedict Arnold" (spies system)is so totally broken. To begin with, the thing is almost guaranteed to happen every X time, even if the mod description claims it happens rarely. Secondly, whenever these actors respawn, their faction change will still be applied. This will cause even more spies." To elaborate, this means that if given enough time, all guards will become dirty traitors!

Alright, but how do you get rid of them for good?

Well you're in luck, here's what you'll need to do! (Reposted from MY reddit post about this)

Eureka! After a lot of hours worth of work and basically running through the civil war quest 2-3 times (I had a friend assist for a second opinion) I can safely say the spies are gone and the game still works! Oddly enough the civil war works better for me, but I digress.

WARNING!! WARNING!! THIS WILL ONLY WORK FOR A NEW GAME. FOR A CURRENT SAVE SEE THE BOTTOM OF THIS COMMENT.