Overclocking CPU for Oblivion

nicktheduke

I just finalized my load order last night and I'm now trying to optimize the game as much as possible.

I have reduced ugriddistantcount and done a few ini tweaks. I've also used DDSOpt and PYFFI to optimize textures/meshes. But I'm still getting low framerate due to Better Cities. I know that particular mod is an FPS killer but there has to be some way to improve the situation.

One thought I had was that since the game engine is CPU intensive and only runs on one core, wouldn't overclocking the CPU improve performance? Has anyone tried this? Would love to hear thoughts before I go down a rabbit hole. I have a i7-4790K.

Somewhere there were some mentions of Oblivion turning unstable on overclocked systems, but I have no idea if it has any truth to it. The game is so old, and I am not sure if you can make it run any better no matter what you tried. I am not an expert by any means, but if you wish you improve performance by overclocking, you would probably need to overclock a lot to notice any difference, and I have no idea if you would actually notice any. I myself have never overclocked anything, mostly because it voids any warranty and can reduce the components' lifetime a little from what I have heard. Maybe when my current system reaches its limits one day (not for many years I hope), to squeeze a bit more lifetime out of it, assuming overclocking it does not harm any of the other components somehow. Oh well. Like I said, I am not an expert at all, but overclocking seems a bit excessive and I have no idea if it will help. It just sounds like throwing more hardware on a software-related issue... :confused: