New to Modding

So I want to learn to use the Creation Kit myself to create my own mods and I figured this would be a good place to start? I have no prior experience with modding anything at all so this would likely take me years to get to where I can actually make stuff that I can show off. But I figure I'm in my early 20s and don't got too much going on these days so it couldn't hurt to learn a new skill. And I'm tired of waiting for other people to create content that I want to play; I want to take initiative? So modders, what would be the best place to start learning? Are there any skills/programs I should learn before even installing Creation Kit? Don't a lot of modders use Blender? I have that already and have been learning that (I work in film production so that's what I've been learning it for up until now). But is there anything else I need to look into?

The best place to start learning is to pick something you want to make. I would advise starting small though...

Blender or 3DSMax are used to create and edit meshes. You'll also want nifskope if you're planning to do this. If the mod you want to make doesn't require new meshes, you do not need Blender. There are a lot of meshes already available in the vanilla game that you can use as well as tons of free mesh resources here on nexus, so you may not need to create anything new to achieve your vision.

If you're not familiar with the format of the game that would be the best place to start. You should at least know: what an esp, texture, mesh, and script are, and the basic format skyrim uses for those (dds, nif, pex, psc).

Depending on what you want to do there are countless tutorials available. There's also video and written tutorials that will walk you through something basic like creating a house or a sword just to get used to the tools.

Other tools you may want (besides the creation kit of course!) include TES5edit and GIMP or another program that will let you edit dds files.