Which is Better?

tnu

Hey i'm new to the moding scene and wanted to know which was better. CM Partners or TalkiToasters CompanionShareRecruit? can anyone give me a recomendaiton break don pros cons?

You're in luck, since I've been using both for some time. ;)

CM Partners:

-Must be applied via characters that you create in the CS; otherwise comes with three "basic" companions.

-Mostly useful for those with at least a little modding skill and/or a nice face in mind.

-Can't be used to grab random NPCs.

-Allows you to tell companions to sleep, eat, drink, go find weapons or armor, etc.

-Does not require OBSE.

-Does not come with a way to "call" your companion, and they can easily get lost unless you use something else like Toaster's or Companion Mark and Recall.

-Companions are tagged essential and can't be permanently "killed.

Toaster:

-Cannot be used to create a "companion" character; you would have to create the character, place them in the CS, and recruit them manually in-game.

-Can be used to recruit anyone including random NPCs (doesn't work well with guards or other duplicated NPCs due to Oblivion's AI limitations).

-Has more limited companion orders than CM Partners.

-In recent versions, does require OBSE.

-Is more friendly to large numbers of companions, with a "unit" organizing system already in place.

-Don't get too attached, because recruiting doesn't make someone essential - they can and will die on you.

-Comes with spell system for recalling companions to you, thus preventing them from getting lost.

These are fully compatible sets of scripts, so I use both of them - I make custom companions with the CM scripts in the CS and then usually recruit them with both systems so that I can use Toaster's script to keep them from permanently wandering off.