Container Weight/Item Limit

RngrHawk

Good day!

So what I want to do here is set a limit to either weight or the amount of items you can place inside containers in Fallout 4. Thing is, I found two values in the containers in CK, 'Weight' and 'Encumbrance', but they don't work. I even checked in-game by getav carryweight in the console while a container was selected. I tried setav carryweight to check if it may work that way but obviously that was never gonna work. Both the weight value in CK and the carryweight value in-game equal to 0 when not modified.

Any ideas on how I might be able to set a weight limit to containers?

Thanks for any help in advance :)

I'm by no means an expert, but as far as i can tell, just because there's a field there doesn't mean it's actually used / does anything. CK isn't the most vetted or user-friendly piece of software out there and it's used to mod Skyrim as well as fallout.

Anyone who knows skyrim might be able to correct me, but there aren't any container that limit the number of items in game. To my knowledge there's no built in way to limit the number of items in a container. Containers can filter out certain types of objects (the bobblehead stand and weapons racks wont take a deathclaw hide), but the number of objects isn't really limited (I assume there is some crazy theoretical limit, like how a float variable can only hold a number so big, but if there is one it is way way up there). Since there's no existing container to reference and the CK doesn't seem to want to work, you might have to make a way yourself via scripting. Though I'm not sure how much scripting can be done to containers because https://www.creationkit.com/fallout4/index.php?title=Container_Script doesn't have anything to go on.