Graphics Card

BigTex

The short version: I need a new graphics card to run morrowind on my PIII 650 MHz, what is good enough without going over the top?

The long version: I have been playing Morrowind for two years on Xbox and have been contiunally fustrated not being able to mod. Finally, I scammed a slightly older computer and set the game up to run, but it needs to be in 32-bit color and my current set up will only support up to 24-bit color. What can I get without dropping too much money that will let me run the game?

• 3 weeks later...

Hey I had this same problem when I got Morrowind for the computer. I currently have a 256Mb, 64-bit color, Nividia GeForce GX5200 Special edition wich was about 215$. But that is defenitely over-doing it. So depending on your price range you might want an ATI Radeon 7500 or higher wich cost anywhere from 75$ to

350$. Please note that I am in Colorado so prices might change if you live somewhere else. My Advice get an ATI Radeon 7500.

Yeah, I forgot about that each graphic card comes with specific system requirements so depending on your processor and SDD DDR Ram Memory the graphics card might be accepted by the mother board. Also what OS do you have? because most ATI Radeons wont run on Anythi9ng lower than 2000 or NT so if you got Win98 or 95 your sorta stuck unless you get Windows XP which works awsome!

650 mhz? Yeugh! Get a better processor, for starters ;) that is rather awful.

I'd suggest the following if you don't want to spend much money:

Graphics: GeForce4 MX400

Processor: 1 Ghz

RAM: 256 MB

And something that at least supports 32 bit colour! :P