New to Overclocking GPUs

so yea. first GPU ever. needless to say im completely new at all this.

i installed it today. updated the drivers to the latest 12.11 Beta drivers. at stock settings, ran a few tests and everything was fine. then i wanted to see what i was able to do. got the latest Catalyst Control Center and messed around with it, but it doesnt seem like i can get much from it. from what ive read, using just the CCC i should be able to get roughly 1000-1050Mhz on the Core Clock and i should be able to max out the Memory Clock, if i put the Power Settings at +20%. but i cant. i cant even get 1000Mhz stable. if i set it to that, and run 3Dmark 11 Performance, it fails. sometimes at the beginning, sometimes after the first graphics test. but has always failed.

so just out of curiosity, i downloaded MSI After Burner, set it up so i could alter my voltages and stuff, and messed around with that. i tried a couple of settings i had read that people had gotten, with no luck. my screen just flickers at any setting besides the default. though for some reason if i run the Kombustor thingy, my screen wont flicker anymore... so i tried changing settings in small increments of 25. tried changing the Core Clock to 975, with no changes to the Voltages or anything, and got screen flickering. tried only changing the Voltages by 25mv and got screen flickering.

im wondering if im doing something wrong, or if i just got a bad card that doesnt want to OC?

any help or tips would be appreciated.... :/

EDIT: