The Manhatten Project

MattKaiser

Hi.

So I've had this idea for a rather ambitious TC since I started playing Fallout 3. I didn't know if it was possible, but looking over the recently released GECK I am quite sure it is.

Here's the basics of the idea:

Instead of playing the Vault Dweller from 101, why not have a completely new story, zones, NPCs and so on based on someone emerging from a Vault in Manhatten?

From what I've been able to figure out, the GECK makes this possible, enabling you to more or less toss aside the current world map and so forth for an entirely different starting area, if you wished.

Instead of being the son of James, you'd be a different Vault Dweller who leaves for different reasons.

I've already got a bunch of concepts and story ideas and NPC outlines all done up, but here's the tricky part:

I'm rubbish at the actual coding and construction aspects of modding. However, the GECK is very similar to the TES Construction Kit and I'm sure many of you have lots of experience and might possibly be interested in the challenge of help making this mod a reality.

So, what I'm suggesting here isn't so much a simple mod request, per se, but more an invitation to team up to bring a whole different story to Fallout.

Anyone interested?

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply
So... You want an entirely new game? lol

Not really.

People have added whole new lands and areas and quests in Oblivion, and it appears to be even easier to do that with the GECK.

What I am suggesting is instead of just adding a whole new quest area, make the main character have a different opening and start in that new location instead.

I've seen mods of Oblivion that have done the same thing.