Mate skills to SPECIAL stats

PrideAssassin

I just can't seem to make it work.

I am trying to create a mod that restricts your spending in skill points to no more than 10X the base SPECIAL stat governing the skill. (Modifiers don't count)

So if you have a 1 in Charisma, you are restricted to a maximum of 10 points in Speech/Barter. If you have a 5, you top out at 50 in Speech/Barter.

If your Strength is 8 then 80 is your maximum unarmed skill, etc...

I'm kinda new to this CS but it didn't seem like it would be that hard.

If anyone wants t take this idea and run with it, I'll be the first to download your mod and praise you to the heavens. lol

I've given up. Argh.

Should I post this in troubleshooting?

Sorry for the spam.

I really want to make this idea a reality and make SPECIAL points relevant again.

If this idea had been implemented in the first place, I have a feeling the "It's too easy" posts would have never existed.

If you can at least direct me toward the general area I should be working in I'll attempt once again to do the work.

Am I going to have to script it?

Will I need FOSE, or can I use the GECK?

Is it even doable?

ANY help would be greatly appreciated, and if I ever figure it out, credited.

Thanks again for your time, and thanks for putting up with me.

Nice idea... I'll take a look at the possibilities later today when I get home. If the max skill is settable by script I think I know how to write this.

However if they are uncapped (or capped to some amount like 255) the best I can think of is to remove any skill points above the desired limit, which is not optimal as it would lead to losing already allocated points.

Nice idea... I'll take a look at the possibilities later today when I get home. If the max skill is settable by script I think I know how to write this.