Newbie's custom faction questions

terrisius

Hey guys,

I'm new to modding and was looking into possibly making a new faction. Thing is, before I do it I want to make sure that what I want to do is even possible, and that brings me to my questions.

• The faction I want to create, which the PC would be able to join, would tattoo their members on their initiation. Is is possible to give custom texture overlays to factions as opposed to races?
  • Is it possible to give custom powers to factions, and if so, how?
  • I know that I could give do the above with a new race, but the problems with that are 1) the player would not be able to join the faction unless he was a member of the race and 2) the members would lose their racial abilities in favor of the new race... I would like to allow the members to keep their racial abilities in addition to gaining the benefits of joining the faction.

Any help and/or insight that any of you could offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

As far as I know, I don't think it would be possible to give tattoos to factions only, nope. In a certain way, it's also not possible to give them to races - for maximum compatibility, you'd need to make a series of new unique races (standalone, with their own textures), based on the existing races, for each NPC so they can have the tattoos. There are tutorials on the Nexus to make standalone followers. You could just make them standalone but based on the vanilla races, but there's always a chance of conflicts in this case, so it would be best to make new races from scratch. It would just have to be a bunch of them.

You could just make the new faction like all of the others in the game (where race does not matter), and if you MUST have something unique to identify the people of the faction, why not some apparel that's easy to see, like a circlet, or a weapon, instead? Would be a lot less work :wink: