How do and should I update?!?

entropiachrome

Hey all, (First time TES and STEAM user...)

I've been using Skyrim for 2 months now, and have no idea how to update the game, or even if I should... I see grumblings here and there about "bad patches", and the game seems to be running alright for me as it is now.

This past week I just figured out how to add mods through Nexus, and I'm concerned updating will mess up all my mods. That said, SKSE keeps saying I need the latest version of the game to work correctly, and SkyUI and Catagorized Favorites Menu are giving me mild issues...

Thanks in advance for responses, your advice is appreciated!

STEAM should update automatically, unless you turned that function off. Not sure what's wrong with SKSE though.

SKSE and skyui wont work with the new 1.4.21 patch. You will have to wait for the modders to update their work again. Chances are your game has updated if they're not working

verify the version of Skyrim you are now, to it enter the game normally without using SKSE, press Esc key and the version will be printed on the bottom left of the menu. Probably it will be 1.3.10.00 and them the correct SKSE version is that first in their page 1.04.03 (for the last stable patch).

To be able to try the beta patches you need to explicitly change it into the Steam "Settings", "Beta Participation: Skyrim beta", what at this point, if you are not yet you may rather wait a bit more for the incoming stable patch.

If is already at the 1.4.21.04, SKSE indeed will not work till being updated (again) for it is tightly tied with the game version. Even then you can still play without SKSE, remove it's files and disable the mods using it (this is only for the case the game is already in beta).