⚠ Known Issue: Media on User Profiles ×

Simple question regarding xMarkers and Quest awareness

aluckymuse

Ok so, here's the deal, I'm new to modeling and basically I want to know how to make my new mod (a player home) quest aware.

From my basic understanding of mucking around in the CK, this can be done with linking objects to specific xmarkers and using the checkbox "set enable state to opposite of parent". And that worked fine on my previous DB mod when I used the xmarkers in the given cell to add more to the garden and whatnot. But now I have a new mod with a new cell and I'm trying to make it all fancy and quest aware, knowing xmarkers are the key I looked the ones over in the DB cell but they all don't list having anything attached or referencing them and they all looked the same....except for their reference editor id which i assume is what some other part of the creation kit connects the xmarker to the quest.

So my question: Do you have any tutorial links on this subject OR how do I make a new xmarker in my new cell associate with a quest aka [ Joining the Legion (CW01A) stage 200 ] so that I may use it to toggle some fancypants object?

Option 1:

Take an immovable or hidden object (can be another xmarker) in the cell that will be enabled by default. Give it a script. On that script it will use OnInit() to register for a single update. The OnUpdate() would check for the quest stage to be set or greater. If it is set or greater then you assign a local bool variable to true. If it isn't set or greater you re-register the single update and check later. Once true, use OnCellAttach() to have the script enable or disable the xmarkers as needed.

Option 2:

Similar to option 1 however the script is on the player alias of a dummy quest and instead of using OnCellAttach() it just enables or disables the xmarkers as necessary when the quest stage is found to be set or greater in the OnUpdate() event.

Option 3: