Hi I'm new to modding and I have a great idea for a mod in Fallout 4, I don't want the idea to be stolen because I

do want the credit for it and the experience of making a mod. However I will shed some light on the idea.

I've posted this thread to ask some questions and to hopefully gain some sources for myself and anybody else

who is on the same path as I. That is, learning to mod!

I want to ask the community here for general knowledge on modding, give me a list of sources for modding that includes;

Tools/Programs that modders are currently using

and

Tutorials that are great for those tools/programs

The idea I had for a mod is what I believe is brilliant and it currently does not exist anywhere however I without

a doubt can guarentee that someone has had a similar idea or at least is currently making one now. Sorry I will not

say exactly what but let me shed some light here.

The mod is basically taking an existing vanilla wasteland found decoration piece (sort of) and giving it a function at settlements.

I want it to require power and other uses (that shall remain hidden for now).

The question is what kind of tools do current modders make that could fit the criteria of this? I'm already aware of GECK that isn't

out at the time being, I am currently messing around with F04edit, are there any other mod tools I could use? If so any basic tutorials for them?

Anything else I should (or other people new to modding) know? Please let me know your help is gratefully appreciated.

I want this to be a place with an abundance of sources for anybody knew to modding at the time being.

Peace

- Cigy

Hello,

First of all, there is a LOT of tools missing right now. The game has been out for a little more than a month and no official documentation, software or anything have been released by Bethesda yet. Therefore, mod creation for FO4 is just barely beginning.

There is near to no tutorials. The best I found is here. There is also this post about modeling here.