I recently started playing Rust and it gave me some really good ideas for a Fallout 4 mod. You might think all the best mod ideas have already been done but this really is a killer idea for a mod and I'm fairly sure nothing like it exists. The closest thing to my knowledge is the "DUST Survival Simulator" mod for New Vegas, which was one of the most enjoyable New Vegas mods in my opinion.

In summary, my idea is this: remove all quests and NPC's except raiders and mutants/ghouls, then reframe it as a zombie apocalypse type thing, and add Rust-like components, such as building damage and door locks. You'd have to protect your base against zombie hordes and groups of raiders, so the raiders would finally be living up to their title, they would come and try to raid your base like players in Rust.

The main focus of the mod would be survival and home-defense, for the true experience it'd have to be played in survival mode so hunger and thirst were important. So just like in Rust, you'd have to build a secure base to prevent enemies from breaking in and stealing your loot. You would be able to craft primitive weapons like the pipe gun, but first schematics would need to be found before they could be crafted.

Schematics would also be required to unlock better building components with higher damage resistance. The mod could also utilize the full power of the Fallout 4 building system to create elaborate raider bases ranging in their size and defenses. The mod would add a bunch of new raider bases around the map and also add many more spawn areas for ghouls and mutant creatures so that it really feels like a zombie apocalypse.